Fresh centella asiatica leaves beside supplement bottle with magnifying glass over label

Centella Asiatica Wound Healing: Where The Triterpenoid Count Lives

By Winifred Oduya · Edited by Gus Feld

Listen · Winifred Oduya reads this piece · 1:52

The supplement industry has discovered centella asiatica and promptly done to it what it does to every plant with a clinical trial behind it: put it in forty different bottles with forty different dosages and called all of them standardized. Centella asiatica wound healing works in controlled studies. In retail, standardized means whatever the label writer felt like typing that morning.

A 2026 review in Nutrients reports that the plant's four major triterpenoids, asiaticoside, madecassoside, asiatic acid and madecassic acid, modulate NF-κB and MAPK pathways, reduce oxidative stress through Nrf2 signaling, promote collagen synthesis, and inhibit fibrosis. Another review in Pharmaceutical Biology the same year describes asiaticoside accelerating tissue repair via anti-inflammatory effects, angiogenesis and extracellular matrix remodeling. Real mechanisms, reproducible outcomes, controlled conditions. Then the plant walks into a retail aisle and the chaos starts.

What Standardized Means When Nobody Is Watching

A standardized centella asiatica dosage should tell you the percentage of active triterpenoids in each capsule. Some bottles list ten percent. Others say twenty. A few claim forty or even eighty. Same plant, four answers, and the only standard anybody agrees on is that the word goes on the label whether it means anything or not.

One product lists "titrated extract standardized to 40% triterpenoids, 500 mg per capsule." That is two hundred milligrams of the compounds the studies actually tested. Another lists "whole herb powder, 1000 mg." Powder. Not extract. The triterpenoid content of raw plant material runs between one and eight percent depending on harvest, season, soil and whether anyone checked. You are paying for a gram of leaf that may or may not contain what the trial used.

A third bottle says "proprietary blend" and hides the individual doses behind that phrase as though proprietary were a credential and not an evasion. If a man will not name the price, the price is bad. If a label will not name the dose, the dose is guesswork.

Raw centella plant material beside various commercial supplement bottles showing different dosages

The Nutrients review notes that clinical translation of centella remains limited due to "inconsistent formulations, variability in extract standardization, and limited pharmacokinetic data." Translation: the research used extracted, quantified compounds. The gotu kola supplement you bought contains whatever grew that quarter, ground fine and put in gelatin.

What The Research Actually Tested For Cica Supplement Skin Recovery

The dermatology trials did not test whole-plant powder. A 2026 review in Biomolecules & Therapeutics summarizing centella asiatica for wound care in atopic dermatitis describes "anti-inflammatory, antimicrobial and antioxidant activities" tied to specific triterpenoid fractions, not to the entire herb. The studies isolated the active compounds, standardized the concentrations, and measured outcomes against controls.

Asiaticoside, for instance, promotes collagen type I and III synthesis. Madecassoside reduces pro-inflammatory cytokines. Both improve wound closure rates in controlled models. The effects are dose-dependent, which means the amount matters, which means a bottle that does not state the amount is selling you a hypothesis instead of a product.

The Pharmaceutical Biology review, focused on gastrointestinal wound healing after endoscopic procedures, describes asiaticoside's mechanisms in detail: modulation of TGF-beta and Smad signaling, reduction of fibrosis, enhanced angiogenesis. It also notes that "poor bioavailability" limits the compound's effectiveness when taken orally, and that novel delivery systems like hydrogels and microneedles are under investigation to solve that problem. Your capsule, meanwhile, relies on your stomach acid and whatever asiaticoside survived the manufacturing process.

The Compliance Phrasing You Will Find On Every Bottle

Supports. Like a folding chair. Nobody says what it is holding up. The label promises a collagen support herbal supplement. Support of what? Ehn? Collagen synthesis happens or it does not. Wound healing improves or it does not. Inflammatory markers drop or they do not. Support is the verb you use when the outcome is too variable to name.

Promotes healthy skin. Promotes. Like a manager who takes credit for your work and vanishes when the project fails. The studies report measurable changes: wound closure time, tensile strength, epithelialization rates. The bottle reports that it promotes. Promotes what? To whom? Under what conditions? The grammar hides the gap.

May help maintain skin integrity. May. Help. Maintain. Three verbs, zero commitments. It reads like a reference written by someone who barely remembers hiring you. The Nutrients review states plainly that centella "exhibits antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, regenerative, neuroprotective and cytoprotective activities" in experimental models. The bottle downgrades all of that to may help maintain.

How To Buy A Gotu Kola Triterpenoid Extract That Contains What It Says

Look for the percentage of total triterpenoids on the label. If the bottle does not state it, you are buying whole-plant powder at an extract price. A typical effective dose in dermatology studies uses extracts standardized to at least ten percent triterpenoids, often twenty or forty. Below that threshold you are eating expensive leaves.

Check whether the label distinguishes between milligrams of extract and milligrams of active compounds. "500 mg centella extract (10% triterpenoids)" means fifty milligrams of the compounds the research tested. "500 mg centella powder" means five hundred milligrams of plant material containing an unknown and probably single-digit percentage of those compounds. One is a controlled dose. The other is a guess with a gelatin coating.

Avoid proprietary blends unless the manufacturer publishes the individual ingredient amounts elsewhere. Proprietary means they will not tell you, and a supplement you cannot measure is a supplement you cannot evaluate. If the dose were impressive they would print it.

Read for what the label does not promise. If it says supports, maintains, promotes, contributes to, or plays a role in, the manufacturer is not confident enough in the dose to make a factual claim. The research describes mechanisms and measured outcomes. The label describes vague participation. That gap is your cue.

What The Standardization Problem Actually Costs

The studies work. The Nutrients review describes modulation of cellular senescence, improvement of mitochondrial function, and enhanced collagen synthesis in experimental models. The Biomolecules & Therapeutics review notes "efficacy in alleviating AD symptoms and supporting skin barrier restoration" in preclinical and clinical studies. This is not speculative. It is reproducible.

But reproducibility requires dose consistency, and dose consistency requires standardized extracts, and the supplement aisle treats standardized as a marketing term rather than a manufacturing standard. You can find the best centella asiatica supplement for skin if you read past the label poetry and check the triterpenoid percentage. Most shoppers will not. They will buy the bottle that says standardized and assume someone standardized it.

The research moved from passive wound management to active regeneration. The retail formulation moved from dose consistency to profit margin optimization. One of those advances helps. The other one just sells.

This article is education and reporting on published research. It is not medical advice, and nothing here is intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. Talk to your own clinician about your own situation.

Sources

  1. Therapeutic potential of Asiaticoside in wound healing after endoscopic submucosal dissection (ESD), Pharmaceutical biology (2026).
  2. Geroprotective Potential of Centella asiatica: Modulation of Cellular Aging, Nutrients (2026).
  3. Phytotherapeutic Potential of Medicinal Plants for Atopic Dermatitis: Centella asiatica, Clinacanthus nutans, Senna alata, and Coccinia grandis, Biomolecules & therapeutics (2026).

Leave a comment

This site is protected by hCaptcha and the hCaptcha Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.